Lectures and Awards

Even the greatest discovery in the science of cosmetic surgery is useless unless shared and utilized by properly trained physicians. In an ongoing effort to educate cosmetic surgeons, the Cosmetic Surgery Foundation sponsors various lectures at scientific meetings each year. Through these educational forums, physicians have access to the newest techniques, safest procedures, latest tools and other innovative ideas from cosmetic surgery and beyond.

Webster Lecture
This lecture is presented annually at the AACS Scientific Meeting. Named for the late Dr. Webster and sponsored by the Foundation’s Webster Society, this lecture is given on a relevant topic in the cosmetic surgery community.

Past Webster Lecturers:

2017 - Mark Mandell-Brown, MD, (Cincinnati, OH)

2016 – Susan Obagi, MD, (Pittsburgh, PA)

2015 - Jacob Haiavy, MD, (Rancho Cucamonga, CA)

2014 - E. Antonio (Tony) Mangubat, MD (Bellevue, WA)

2013 - Angelo Cuzalina, MD, DDS (Tulsa, OK)

2012 – Jean D. Carruthers, MD (Vancouver, BC, Canada)

2011 – Joe Niamtu, III, DMD (Richmond, VA)

2010 – Howard A. Tobin, MD (Abilene, TX)

2009 – Douglas Dedo, MD (Palm Beach, FL)

2008 – Robert F. Jackson, MD (Marion, IN)

2007 – Steven B. Hopping, MD (Washington, DC)

2006 – Gary D. Monheit, MD (Birmingham, AL)

2005 – Leslie Bernstein, MD, DDS (Sacramento, CA)

2004 – Richard T. Caleel, DO (Chicago, IL)

2003 – Anthony J. Geroulis, MD (Northfield, IL)

2002 – William H. Beeson, MD (Carmel, IN)

2001 – Richard E. Fitzpatrick, MD (La Jolla, CA)

Richard C. Webster, MD Resident Paper Contest
The Richard C. Webster, MD Resident Paper Contest is one of the Cosmetic Surgery Foundation’s essential programs. This annual contest was created to honor the legacy of the late Dr. Webster by encouraging young investigation and innovative research.

Dr. Webster was known not only as one of the founding fathers of cosmetic surgery, but a great teacher as well. He sought new ideas from all disciplines and encouraged colleagues and students to unselfishly share their knowledge to better the science as a whole. It is in this spirit of collaboration that the Foundation is pleased to support participation in this program.

The Resident Paper Contest is designed to create interest in innovative and aggressive research in the cosmetic surgery specialty and to recognize the efforts of young surgeons in training. The award is open to a variety of specialties, but the applicant must be in a recognized program in cosmetic surgery, plastic and reconstructive surgery, otolaryngology, dermatology, general surgery, oral and maxillofacial surgery, obstetrics and gynecology, or ophthalmology, or be a training fellow in an AACS recognized fellowship program.

Please contact foundation@cosmeticsurgery.org, for an application. The CSF is in the process of revising our policies to become better compliant with our donor guidelines and become better aligned with the needs and interest areas of applicant requests.

Past Richard C. Webster Resident Paper Contest Winners:
2011 – Chris Lowery, DO
2010 – Catherine J. Hwang, MD
2009 – Mehryar Taban, MD
2008 – Ronald Mancini, MD and Tanuj Nakra, MD
2007 – Samir S. Pancholi, DO
2006 – No Award Given
2005 – Adil Ceydeli, MD
2004 – Raymond S. Douglas, MD, PhD
2003 – John G. Rose, MD
2002 – Cindy Y. Li, DO
2001 – Briggs E. Cook, Jr., MD
2000 – Kristen J. Tarbet, MD
1999 – No Award Given
1998 – Joerg M. Wittenberg, MD, DDS

Garry Fenno Memorial Lecture
Named for the late Garry Fenno, MD, this lecture is given every other year at the World Congress on Liposuction to acknowledge the contributions that he and honored lecturers have made to the science of cosmetic surgery, specifically liposuction surgery.

Past Fenno Lecturers include:
2002 – Marco Gasparotti, MD
2000 – Richard L. Dolsky, MD
1998 – Jeffrey A. Klein, MD

President’s SocioEconomic Lecturers
The President’s SocioEconomic Lecture was created to provide a forum by which prominent and visionary members of the corporate community could provide insight into emerging trends, economic forces and market conditions for the future of the specialty and the role their company may play in shaping the overall community.

2009 – Larry Laber, Director, Cynosure Inc.
2008 – Mikael Svensson, Vice President, Worldwide Professional Relations – Aesthetic, OrthoNeutrogena/Colbar
2007 – Joshua H. Levine, President and Chief Executive Officer, Mentor Corporation
2006 – David E.I. Pyott, Chief Executive Officer, Allergan, Inc.